AudioVisual

Even before we started I was very excited about this project because I thought we might be learn something new and some external people will come over. I was thinking we might do some stuff in MaxMSP, PureData or Ableton. What a surprise to find out we will have a project in Processing with Paul.

MONDAY

After waiting for a meeting almost more than two hours we finally got the brief. Changing sound in Processing, that was a hugely disappointing, however; I thought I’m gonna find out what I’d like to do and it could be interesting for me. After an hour playing with some code, I knew what I like to do.

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 14.33.09 Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 14.36.19

(fig.1+2 First experimentation for the audioVisual where I used some other codes put together which was reacting to my sound.)

Because almost all of my previous project was short I decided to continue on the bacteria and under water I decided to examine the sound what I did from the Maya. That all of those projects would be connected and in the deep it would almost have same aesthetic.

After a briefing, we had a lecture where basically Paul was showing 4 sound effects for a couple of hours where most of us weren’t able to follow the code so we finally ended it up doing some code what I was able to catch up and play with it.

 

TUESDAY

It was crucial for me find a good motivation to start and work on this project with enthusiasm. In my best and honest opinion, Processing is not the ideal music software.

 

On Tuesday, I was working more on my concept for my the whole day. Whereas I had a consultation with Paul and he mentioned I should not use my own sound because this is a new project and I should go for a completely new concept. I knew it is not ideal but I felt it is my way. I’m working with the code because what I’ve been learning a lot from the Nature of Code and I wanted to explore the concept from this side.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 15.04.49Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 17.21.04Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 17.30.17Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 17.35.01

(fig. 3-6)

 

During my working process, I realized I like more the final “drawing” of the sound itself rather than simple beat visualization with changing density.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 17.38.41 Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 17.38.52 Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 17.40.19

(fig. 7-9)

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 11.12.44 Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 11.20.20 Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 11.20.21 Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 11.35.54

(fig.10-13 – final sound drawing)

 

 

THURSDAY – BEYOND THE PROJECT (learning part)

Since I was almost done and I achieved everything that I wanted from this project I was thinking what more I can get it from this project. I decided I want to learn something more spend more time on exploring what is even more possible so I decided I would like to connect my musical box to Processing so it might be interesting to creating sound and see visuals as well.

img_1738 img_1731

 

This simple connection took more energy than I even though, even figure out how to connect ASCII and OSC from Arduino to MAX MSP to Processing took me very long time. But what I appreciate the most is the learning processes because finally I do understand more functions in Processing. Even though the outcome is not the most beautiful ever it is important to understand that I’m in the beginning of learning and writing the code all by myself and since I am at university I believe it should be appreciated I want to get from the project more…

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 12.43.21 (2)

CONCLUSION

To be honest, from the feedback what I got I am not sure how to work on my upcoming projects because since I was criticised for not asked for the help and exploring and solving OSC problem by my own. I do understand that at Art School I should be able to stand up for concepts but sometimes I want to learn new stuff and experiment with tools what I’ve found out and more and more I’m exploring I know how to use them in the real life. If I would use only tools what I perfectly know by now but when I am at university I’d like to some time to search / solve / experimenting and get more and more knowledge from those problems. Especially all those experiments give me broader view what I would be able to do at the 4th year. I have achieved everything that I wanted at the project and during the presentation I showed more and my enthusiasm what I found for this project. I knew it was about not to stuck at tools level but 3 hours of solving the problem is not a long time.

 

What do I learnt in this project? More processing, more processing and again processing. I am glad to spend more time on other project and involved previous projects and combining them, because after a week and I don’t feel I would be able to find all answers to my questions.

Leave a Reply

